Osama Bin Laden Killed: I Should Be Happy?

Tonight, I saw the news that Osama Bin Laden was killed and I am relieved. The Council on American Islamic Relations ,CAIR, “Welcomes Elimination of Osama Bin Laden”. I hate war and violence, even in the death of my enemy I feel some remorse. A life wasted by one who advocated hate. That reciprocal hate turned to more hatred and killing. Some years ago I was videotaped in a paid television ad spot produced by (CAIR), in it I denounced the promoters of terrorism and violence by any one including Bin Laden. It was followed by an interview on the O’Riley Factor in which denounced him and people who preach hate and violence.

I was happy to see the non-violent resistance movements sweeping parts of the Muslim world, leveraging the non-violent legacy of the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). When the Egyptian military held back from attacking civilians I saw the hope and power of non-violence. But then when Qaddafi turned his soldiers turn on the civilian population in Libya I found my heart bleeding and crying for Article 7 of the UN Charter to take military action which has now led to the deaths of Qaddafi’s son and grandchildren. War is hell. The temptation to use force is a seductive tool to resolve conflict, but without reconciliation it only postpones the need for dialogue and understanding. Peace is a mass movement not an event.

Some time after those television broadcasts I encountered a Muslim friend of mine. He said to me that he was so proud of me for taking such a bold public stand against Bin Laden, Al-Qaeda, terrorism and the support of Muslims especially American Muslims. Then he said something I had not thought about. He said that was really brave of you!

For a second it thought, ‘How can talking on television be brave’. Then it dawned on me or he said it (i can’t remember), people like Osama Bin Laden silence their critics by cutting of their heads. So I guess I should be happy that he (Osama Bin Laden) is dead.

Maybe now when I travel to countries in the “Muslim World” I’m safer because he is gone. Perhaps his henchmen will forget what I an other American Muslims have said and take me off their list of “Most Wanted Americans”……but I fear that violence only begets violence.

I believe that Jesus, The son of Mary, The Messiah and Muhammad, The Prophet -Peace be upon them both were peace makers in their time. They opened an era in human history to preach peace, tolerance and love.

Yet we followers have much to learn. We, the followers of the peace makers demonstrate our loyalty by making war and killing. We must redouble our efforts to make change in the hearts and minds before the crisis of expediency causes us to kill. It seems that the just war theory is always used a “justify” war theory. There must be a better way.

“O you who believe! Stand out firmly for Allaah as just witnesses;
and let not the enmity and hatred of others allow you to avoid
justice. Be just: that is closer to piety; and fear Allaah. Indeed,
Allaah is Well-Acquainted with what you do.”…..Al-Maa’idah 5:8

Blessed are the peace makers…..Matthew 5:9

2 Responses to Osama Bin Laden Killed: I Should Be Happy?

  1. Lisa Cummings says:

    I would think your words were cool except for my belief that you old guys are still trying to control the conversation in order to keep putting bread on the table. You don’t want to give youth their voice because you don’t want to decrease your bank accounts. You care more about media exposure than anything else.
    It you really did the work instead of talk-talk-talking, you might be credible. My generation wants peace and the rights the US Constitution gives us and we are willing to commit in a legit way. the problem is cheap talk is standing in our way. You and Mahdi Bray sounded out the voices of legitimacy because of your need for an income and fame. That was nor cool at all. Ask yourself, what significant thing have you accomplished on behalf of Muslims in the last 10 years. Your own turf stinks with gender discrimination and you indulge the status quo. Dude, step aside and let real progress begin. Stop charging thousands $$$ of dollars for speeches and get some real work done. Last, get legit.

    • As-Salaamu alaikum,

      Don’t let me hold you back. Most of the time I speak for free. I don’t make a $$$dime being in the media (Print, TV or radio). I speak at most local colleges and to youth groups for free. I come because I am invited. Blaming me and Mahdi for drowning out the voices of the youth is a cop-out!

      As a Muslim sister, I assume, that you have the desire to have your voice heard and to make change. Please let me know how I can help. If you are working on a project for the community or with an organization I will do what I can to help you in anyway that I can. There so much work to be done that the community can use every hand.

      But, know this. It is often times a thankless job. People will attack you from every side. You have to be doing it for Allah and Allah alone.

      As-Salaamu Alaikum,

      Your Brother Johari,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,551 other followers

