Response to WaPo Piece

It seems that two Virginia Lawmakers have repeated an oft-repeated SLANDER has been repeated once again in the Washington Post that Dar Al Hijrah and I have ties to terrorism. This is nothing but SLANDER and it is a shame that this LIE is repeated so often.
Firstly, the SLANDER that the Dar Al-Hijrah Islamic Center had ties to 9/11 or any other acts of terrorism. As stated in the article, the FBI and the 9/11 Commission has in fact stated that the Dar Al-Hijrah Islamic Center played no role in the 9/11 attacks. In spite of this fact – that I am sure Mr Athey and Mr. Gilbert are well aware of – they have continued to repeat this SLANDER. This is nothing but an attempt to smear an entire faith community.
As for me, I have continuously condemned terror before and after the 9/11 attacks and my position is very clear. For them to imply something insidious is happening by posting a picture of me and Jim Moran is politics and its lowest.
It is very clear that Mr Athey and Mr. Gilbert are playing xenophobic and racist politics with the people of Virginia and are scare mongering. This is reminiscent of the type of scare tactics used by bigots in the early 20th century.

So let me state again, for the record, in case someone misses it. I have no ties nor have I ever had any ties to terrorism. I speak out against it. I teach against it. I have denounced ‘terrorism and anyone of any faith’ – including Islam, that perpetrates these types of acts in name of religion. I was featured in a paid ad that was broadcast worldwide to over 8 millions viewers and made my denunciation of terrorism, suicide bombing and the 911-types on the Fox News show “The O’Reilly Factor”.

If anyone says that Johari Abdul Malik or Dar Al Hijrah supports terrorism, then I say …”liar, liar pants on fire”

Leave a Reply

