Imam Johari Resigns from Non-Profit Boards

Over the past decade, it has been my honor to serve on many boards, committees and commissions.  I have tried to bring my full capacities to each one of these obligations.  Unfortunately, I have reached a point where my ability to be effective in my personal and professional life has caused me to reconsider and thusly reduce my obligations.   I fear that in many of these commitments I have not been able to work to level of commitment required to achieve the noble objectives set forward by my faith, my family or the organizations that I am committed to serve.

It is my opinion that I can better serve the objectives of serving Allah, my family and my community by freeing myself from many of these excellent efforts.

Therefore, I have elected to resign from the obligations listed below.

  1. Muslim Alliance in North America (MANA)
  2. Muslim Council of America (MCA)
  3. American Muslim Task-Force (Representative of MANA)
  4. MELD/EVEN START
  5. North American Imams Federation (Founding Board member)
  6. Georgetown U – Chaplain Advisory board
  7. University of MD-Chaplain Board

I will continue to serve on the following Dar Al-Hijrah Related Boards, Committees and Commissions:

  1. DC Mayor’s Interfaith Council (Mayor Fenty’s Administration)
  2. Virginia New Majority (VMN)
  3. The Interfaith Conference of Metropolitan Washington (IFC)
  4. Fairfax County Multicultural Advisory Committee
  5. Virginians Organized for Interfaith Community Engagement (VOICE)
  6. Interfaith Communities for Dialogue (Annandale)
  7. Fairfax Partnership for Youth: Students on Suspension (SOS)
  8. The Council of Muslim Organizations (Greater Washington)
  9. IMAN-DC

I will remaining on the non-Dar Al-Hijrah related board Faces of Our Children (Sickle Cell Fund).

I remain grateful to I have had opportunity to serve and I look forward to being a viable contributor in other ways to this great work.  May Allah continue to bless you in your work and make your efforts successful.

Sincerely As-Salaamu ‘Alaikum,

Imam Johari Abdul-Malik,

Outreach Director, Dar Al-Hijrah Islamic Center

4 Responses to Imam Johari Resigns from Non-Profit Boards

  1. […] on the radicalism of the Dar al Hijra Mosque, Johari has suddenly modified his behavior.  On June 8, 2010, Johari announced his resignation from a variety of openly- Muslim Brotherhood-connected organizations, remaining as a representative […]

  2. […] on the radicalism of the Dar al Hijra Mosque, Johari has suddenly modified his behavior.  On June 8, 2010, Johari announced his resignation from a variety of openly- Muslim Brotherhood-connected organizations, remaining as a representative […]

  3. […] on the radicalism of the Dar al Hijra Mosque, Johari has suddenly modified his behavior.  On June 8, 2010, Johari announced his resignation from a variety of openly- Muslim Brotherhood-connected organizations, remaining as a representative […]

  4. […] on the radicalism of the Dar al Hijra Mosque, Johari has suddenly modified his behavior.  On June 8, 2010, Johari announced his resignation from a variety of openly- Muslim Brotherhood-connected organizations, remaining as a representative […]

Leave a comment